Meet Our Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Mary Ellen Heian Schmider

Dr. Schmider previously served as Executive Director of the Fulbright …

DeDe Long
Vice President

DeDe Long has been Director of Study Abroad and International Exchange at the University of Arkansas since 1994

Cynthia Ackron Baldwin

Justice Cynthia A. Baldwin has indeed enjoyed a prestigious career. Justice Baldwin dedicated eighteen years…

Charles Veigel

Charles Veigel is a senior legal professional with more than 20 years of experience leading…

Pat LeMay Burr
Chair, Governance and Nominations, and Past President

Dr. Burr holds a Ph.D. in Business and Economics from University of North Texas…


Ashley Conard

Ashley Conard is a 2015 Fulbright Research alumna and studied computational biology in Belgium…

Bruce Fowler

Dr. Bruce Fowler is a private consultant in toxicology and risk assessment, Adjunct Professor…

Scott Friedman

Dr. Scott L. Friedman is the Dean for Therapeutic Discovery and Chief of the Division of Liver Diseases…

Johanna Gusman

Johanna Gusman, Associate Director of International Policy, working for “Corporate Accountability”…

Alison Gardy

For 15+ years, Alison Gardy has created pioneering educational programming for local, national, and global leaders…

Nada Glick

Dr. Glick is an experienced career counselor, currently with a private career counseling practice. For many years…

Melanie Horton

Melanie Horton is Senior Marketing Manager at EdTec, a social venture that provides business and development…

Ann von Briesen Lewis

Ann von Briesen Lewis is an international development consultant, with experience living and working in Asia…

Caroline Levander

Caroline Levander is the Vice President of Global and Digital Strategy and Carlson Professor…

Jay Nathan

A Fulbright Scholar to Thailand, Poland, Kazakhstan, and Mongolia, Dr. Nathan has earned MBA and PhD degrees…

H. Andrea Neves

Professor emerita of education at Sonoma State University, Dr. Neves received her doctorate in educational anthropology…

Stacey Nickson

Stacey Nickson is in her fourth decade of service as an educator and administrator in both K-12…

Nancy Neill
Director and Past President

Nancy Neill has been part of the board and executive team at the Fulbright ..

Manfred Philipp
Director and Past President

Manfred Philipp was President of the Board of the Fulbright Association in 2018…..

Ulku Rowe

Ulku Rowe is the Director of Financial Services at Google Cloud, Office of the CTO . Before joining Google, Ulku…

Mary Ann Stanton

Mary Ann Stanton is Chair of the Fulbright Alumni Travel Task Force and a board member of the Fulbright Association Minnesota Chapter.

Donald Sparks

Donald Sparks is Professor of International Economics at the Citadel in Charleston, SC, (where he has..

Our Board of Directors is unpaid and members serve in a pro bono capacity. Members pay their own expenses for travel to board meetings and make a significant financial contribution to the organization each year. Board members are elected for 3-year terms.