The J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

The Fulbright Prize honors the largest and most significant educational and cultural exchange program in history, as well as the career and spirit of its creator, the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas.

The prize recognizes and rewards outstanding contributions toward bringing peoples, cultures, or nations to greater understanding of others. The inaugural Fulbright Prize was awarded to former South African President Nelson Mandela in 1993.

The Prize, which includes a US$50,000 award is presented at a special ceremony during which the laureate makes a substantive address on his/her work and aspirations.

Four recipients of the Fulbright Prize — Nelson Mandela, Jimmy Carter, Kofi Annan and Martti Ahtisaari — have later been named Nobel Peace Prize laureates.

As the Association’s most important fundraiser, event sponsorships and donations provide critical support to the Fulbright Association’s programs in education, advocacy, and public service, including outreach to under-represented communities.

The Prize also directly benefits the charitable priority of the Laureate.

2022 Prize Laureates - Dr. Kizzmekia Corbett and Dr. Anthony Fauci

Call for Nominations2024 Prize Nominations Open
Past Laureates