19th Annual Conference


“50th Anniversary of the Fulbright Program”

ANA Hotel, Washington D.C.

October 10-13, 1996


Thursday, October 10
Afternoon Legislative Updates
5-9 p.m. Conference Registration, Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel

Friday, October 11
8-10 a.m.; 2-6 p.m. Conference Registration, Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel
10:15 a.m. Buses depart from ANA Hotel to State Department
11 a.m.-12 p.m. Fulbright Prize Award Ceremony & Lecture, Department of State
12:30-1:30 p.m. Reception with Fulbright Prize Laureate, Eighth Floor Diplomatic Rooms, Department of State
1:45 p.m. Buses depart for ANA Hotel
2:30-4:30 p.m. Concurrent Workshops

  • Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program
  • Recent Developments in Fulbright Program for Faculty
  • International Grant Opportunities

4:45-6:15 p.m. Annual Business Meeting of Members
7-9:30 p.m. 19th Annual Banquet

  • The Honorable Thomas R. Pickering (Australia 1956), U.S. Ambassador to Russia

Saturday, October 12
8 a.m.-3:30 p.m. Conference Registration, Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel
8:45-10:15 a.m. The Globalization of Education & The Impact of International Academic Exchange

  • John W. Ryan (Middle East 1986), Interim Chancellor, State University of New York
  • Niara Sudarkasa (Benin 1982), President, Lincoln University
  • Jan G.F. Veldhuis (USA), President, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands

10:30-11:45 a.m. International Educational Exchange: The Economic Dimensions

  • Corazon S. de la Paz (USA), Chairman and Senior Partner, Price Waterhouse, The Philippines, and President, Philippine Fulbright Scholars Association
  • Jessica P. Einhorn (Venezuela 1967), Managing Director, Finance and Resource Mobilization, The World Bank
  • Marshall I. Goldman (USSR 1978), Kathryn Wasserman Davis Professor of Economics, Wellesley College, and Associate Director, Russian Research Center, Harvard University
  • Eduardo Lizano (USA), President, Consejeros Economicos y Financieros, S.A., and Former President, National Bank of Costa Rica

12:30-2 p.m. Plenary Luncheon

  • Ruth J. Simmons (France 1968), President, Smith College

2:15-4:15 p.m. Concurrent Workshops

  • Chapter Development Seminar
  • Planned Giving
  • Global Fulbright Alumni Network

4:30-6:30 p.m. Task Force Meetings

  • Fulbright Association Task Force on Eastern and Central Europe and the Former Soviet Union
  • Fulbright Association Task Force on the Arts
  • Fulbright Association AIDS Task Force
  • Fulbright Association Task Force on Environment and Science (in development)

Sunday, October 13
8-10 a.m. Conference Registration, Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel
9-10:30 a.m. International Educational Exchange and U.S. Domestic and Foreign Policy

  • The Honorable David Funderburk (NC) (Romania 1972), United States House of Representatives
  • Georgie Ann Geyer (Austria 1956), Syndicated Columnist
  • Abraham F. Lowenthal (Japan 1994), President, Pacific Council on International Policy
  • Riordan Roett (Brazil 1964), Sarita and Don Johnston Professor and Director, Latin American Studies Program, The Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, The Johns Hopkins University

10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. International Education and Science, Technology & Telecommunications

  • Joseph P. Allen (Germany 1959), Chairman, Calspan SRL Corporation
  • Robert S. Bowen (Sweden 1963), President & CEO, COMNET Corporation
  • Peter T. Knight (England 1962), Chief, Electronic Media Center, The World Bank
  • Eugene A. Sekulow (Norway 1952), Consultant and Adjunct Professor, Columbia University

12:15 p.m. Conference Wrap-Up


Hotel reservations must be made by Sept. 19 to obtain the special room rate of$99 for a single or double, plus tax, and must be accompanied by a first night’s deposit by check, money order, or major credit card number. To make reservations, please call the ANA Hotel at (202) 429-2400 or FAX your reservation to (202) 457-5010, with your credit card number to guarantee your reservation. To receive our special rate, identify your affiliation with the Fulbright conference. YOU MUST REGISTER FOR THE FULBRIGHT ASSOCIATION CONFERENCE TO QUALIFY FOR THE SPECIAL HOTEL RATE.


Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [805.33 KB]