20th Annual Conference


“Globalization and Peace in the 21st Century–The Fulbright Role”

Washington D.C.

October 2-5, 1997


Thursday, October 2, 1997

1:30-3:30 p.m. Legislative Briefing

  • Roosevelt Room, ANA Hotel
  • Michael McCarry, Executive Director, Alliance for International Educational & Cultural Exchange
  • Kennon H. Nakamura, Director of Congressional Relations, American Foreign Service Association

4-9 p.m. Conference Registration

  • Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel

Friday, October 3, 1997

8-10 a.m. & 2-6 p.m. Conference Registration

  • Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel

10:15 a.m. Buses Depart from ANA Hotel to State Department, 23rd St. Entrance

11 a.m.-12 p.m. J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding Award Ceremony and Lecture by 1997 Fulbright Prize Laureate, Václav Havel, President of the Czech Republic

  • Dean Acheson Auditorium

12:30-1:30 p.m. Luncheon Reception with President Havel

1:45 p.m. Buses Depart for ANA Hotel

2:30-4:30 p.m.  Concurrent Workshops

  • Recent Developments in the Fulbright Program for Faculty
    • Ballroom 1, Ballroom Level
    • Christine A. Morfit, Acting Executive Director, Council for International Exchange of Scholars
  • Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program
    • Latrobe Room, Ballroom Level
    • Dorothy Herin Conner, Teacher, West Laurens High School, Dublin, Ga.
    • Martha Hart, San Diego
    • John Hishmeh, Program Officer, Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program, United States Information Agency (USIA)
    • Jochen Hoffmann, Chief, Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program, USIA
    • Jeff Lowenstein, Teacher, Newton (Mass.) Public Schools
    • Kirke Riismaa, Student, Dublin, Ga.
  • International Grant Opportunities
    • Executive Forum, Ballroom Level
    • Ralph Hines, Chief, International Studies Programs, U.S. Department of Education
    • Christine Kalke, Senior Academic and Program Officer, National Endowment for the Humanities
    • Pat Kern Schaefer, Executive Assistant, USIA
    • Ronald Wells, Director of University Relations, Civic Education Project

4:45-6:15 p.m. Annual Business Meeting of Members

  • Executive Forum, Ballroom Level
  • Kathy Waldron (Venezuela 1981), Member, National Humanities Center Steering Committee on the Future of the Fulbright Program

7-9:30 p.m. 20th Annual Banquet

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Keith Geiger, Director, Office of Academic Programs, USIA
  • David F. Hales, Deputy Assistant Administrator and Director, Global Environment Center, U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

Saturday, October 4, 1997

8:00-3:30 a.m. Conference Registration

  • Ballroom Foyer, ANA Hotel

8:45-10:15 a.m. Conflict Prevention and Democracy Building

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Harriet Hentges (Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, & Senegal 1967), Executive Vice President, United States Institute of Peace
  • John Hurford (India 1965, 1966), Executive Director, BEA Associates
  • Géza Jeszenszky (USA 1984, 1985), Member, Hungarian National Assembly, President, Hungarian Atlantic Council
  • Sir Ronald Wilson (USA 1956), President, Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission, Australia

10:15-10:30 a.m. Coffee Break

10:30-11:45 a.m. Globalization of the World Economy

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Colin I. Bradford, Chief Economist, USAID
  • Earl H. Fry (France 1974, Canada 1995), Professor of Political Science and Endowed Professor of Canadian Studies, Brigham Young University
  • Gary C. Hufbauer (England 1974), Maurice R. Greenberg Chair, Director of Studies, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Kathy Waldron (Venezuela 1981), Vice President, Citibank, N.A.

12:30-2 p.m. Plenary Luncheon and Address

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Brian Atwood, Administrator, USAID

2:15-3:45 p.m.  Concurrent Sessions

  • Planned Giving
    • Latrobe Room, Ballroom Level
    • Frederick G. Acker (England 1957), Partner, McDermott, Will & Emery
    • Howard P. Colhoun (Norway 1957), President, Emerging Growth Partners, Inc.
    • Richard O. Lundquist (Zimbabwe 1984, Sri Lanka 1989, Latvia 1994), Professor Emeritus of International and Private Enterprise, SUNY-Fredonia
  • Global Fulbright Alumni Network
    • Roosevelt Room, Ballroom Level
    • Jane L. Anderson, Executive Director, Fulbright Association
    • Wiltrud W. G. Hammelstein (USA 1987), President of the Fulbright Alumni e.V. (the German Fulbright Alumni Association)
    • Sir Ronald Wilson (U.S.A. 1956), President, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission, Australia
  • Fulbright Association Chapter Development Seminar
    • Culpeper Room, Ballroom Level

2:15-3:00 p.m. Veterans Session

  • Lisa Chapin, Director of Member and Chapter Services, Fulbright Association
  • Beverly Hawk (Kenya 1993), Immediate Past President and Secretary, Alabama Chapter
  • David Levin, Senior Program Officer, USIA
  • Jesús Méndez (Argentina 1983), President, South Florida Chapter

3:05-3:45 p.m. Newcomers Session

  • Lisa Chapin
  • Jennifer Ceriale (Hungary 1992, Germany 1997), President, Central New York Chapter
  • Jesús Méndez
  • Marilynn M. Rosenthal (Sweden & England 1989), President, Southeast Michigan Chapter

4-5:30 p.m. Concurrent Fulbright Association Task Force Meetings

  • Fulbright Association Task Force on Eastern and Central Europe and the Newly Independent States
    • Executive Forum, Ballroom Level
    • Arthur Helweg (India 1971 & 1977, Australia 1978, Romania 1991), Professor of Anthropology, Western Michigan University
    • Harry L. Humphries (Russia 1994), Associate Professor of Sociology, Pittsburgh State University
    • Thomas J. Keil (Romania 1991), Professor and Chairman, Department of Sociology, University of Louisville
    • Linda Scanlan (1993 Bulgaria), Professor of Journalism (Ret.), Norfolk State University
  • Fulbright Association Arts Task Force
    • Roosevelt Room, Ballroom Level
  • Fulbright Association Environment and Science Task Force
    • Culpeper Room, Ballroom Level
    • Jeremy Cripps (Zimbabwe 1995), Professor, Business Administration, Accounting, and Economics, Heidelberg College, Ohio
    • Robert George (India 1984 & 1988), Professor of Biological Sciences, University of North Carolina-Wilmington
  • Fulbright Association Education Task Force Organizational Meeting
    • Latrobe Room, Ballroom Level

6:30 p.m. Buses Depart from ANA Hotel to Meridian International Center

7-8:30 p.m. Fulbright Association 20th Anniversary Art Exhibit and Reception

  • Meridian International Center
  • Alan M. Fern (England 1954), Director, National Portrait Gallery
  • Harriet Mayor Fulbright, Executive Director, The President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities

Sunday, October 5, 1997

8-10 a.m. Conference Registration

  • Ballroom Foyer

9-10:30 a.m. Pandemic Diseases–Global Impacts

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Sally Grooms Cowal, Director, External Relations, Joint U.N. Programme on
  • Helen Gayle, Director, Center for HIV, STD, & TB Prevention, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Gudmund Hernes (USA 1971), Minister of Health, Norway
  • David Heymann, Director, Division of Emerging and Other Communicable Diseases, Surveillance Control, World Health Organization

10:30-10:45 a.m. Coffee Break

10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Environment–Climate Change and Biodiversity Loss

  • Ballroom, ANA Hotel
  • Twig Johnson, Vice President of the Latin American & Caribbean Program, World Wildlife Fund
  • Thomas Lovejoy, Counselor to the Secretary, Biodiversity and Environmental Affairs
  • Ricardo Navarro (USA 1980), Executive Director and President, Salvadoran Center for Appropriate Technology (CESTA)
  • Michael Rock (Thailand 1985), Senior Program Officer, WinRock International