23rd Annual Conference


“International Challenges and New Leadership: A Fulbright Colloquium”

Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington, D.C.

November 30-December 3, 2000


Thursday, November 30
3-5 p.m. Conference Registration

7-9 p.m. Fulbright Association Arts Task Force Program

Friday December 1
8-10 a.m.

2-6 p.m. Conference Registration

10:15 a.m. Buses depart from Omni Shoreham Hotel for Fulbright Prize Ceremony

11 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Fulbright Prize Award Ceremony, Lecture & Reception International Trade Center

1:45 p.m. Buses depart for Omni Shoreham Hotel

2:15-3:30 p.m. Election 2000:  The Congressional Outlook on International Affairs

  • Edward J. Blakely (Sweden 1985), Dean, Robert J. Milano Graduate School of Management and Urban Policy, New School University
  • Daniel E. Bob (Fiji 1985), Special Assistant for Asian and Pacific Affairs Office of Sen. William V. Roth, Jr., U.S. Senate
  • Michael Haltzel (Germany 1963), Democratic Staff Director for European Affairs, U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee
  • Norman J. Ornstein, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute; Fulbright 40th Anniversary Distinguished Fellow

3:45-4:15 p.m. Annual Meeting of Members

  • Frederick G. Acker (England 1957), President, Fulbright Association,

4:15-6:00 p.m. Fulbright Program Advocacy for Chapters & Members

  • Carol Bender (Japan 1997), President, Fulbright Association
    Arizona Chapter
  • Lisa Chapin, Director of Member and Chapter Services,
    Fulbright Association
  • Charles F. Dambach, Chairman, Coalition for American
    Leadership Abroad
  • R. Fenton-May (U.S.A. 1967), Chairman, Fulbright Association
    Board of Directors Committee on Advocacy & External Relations
  • Jelita McLeod, Director of External Relations, Fulbright
  • Michael Ringler, Staff Assistant, Subcommittee on the
    Departments of Commerce, Justice, State, the Judiciary, and Related
    Agencies, House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations

7-9:30 p.m. 23rd Annual Banquet and Keynote Address

  • Beatriz M. Ramacciotti (U.S.A. 1988), Ambassador and
    Permanent Representative of Peru to the Organization of American
    States (1994-2000)

Saturday December 2
9-10:15 a.m. International Education Policy:  What Lies Ahead?

  • Barry E. Ballow, Director, Office of Academic Exchange
    Programs, U.S. Department of State
  • Madeleine F. Green, Vice President and Director, Center for Institutional and International Initiatives, American Council on Education
  • Eugene P. Trani (Soviet Union 1981), President, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Jayne Millar Wood, Project Manager, Worldwide Initiatives for Grantmaker Support, Council on Foundations

10:30 a.m.-Noon Saving the Earth:  Reconciling Economic Development & Environmentalism

  • J. William Futrell (Germany 1957), President, Environmental Law Institute
  • Melinda Kimble, Vice President for Programs, United Nations Foundation
  • Aseem Prakash, Assistant Professor, School of Business and Public Management, The George Washington University
  • David M. Roodman (Vietnam 1998), Senior Researcher, Worldwatch Institute

12:30-2 p.m. Plenary Luncheon and Address

  • Tom Bettag (Japan 1976), Executive Producer, ABC News Nightline

2:00-3:15 p.m. Selma Jeanne Cohen Fund Lecture:  “Expression in Dance”

  • Leslie Friedman (India 1983), Artistic Director, The Lively Foundation, San Francisco

7-9:00 p.m. Concert & Reception, The Mexican Cultural Institute

  • Derek Bermel (Netherlands 1995), clarinetist, composer

Sunday December 3
9-10:15 a.m. Fulbright Association International Education Task Force:  The Future of Education and the Fulbright Program

  • Gerald A. Heeger (Pakistan 1983), President,
    University of Maryland University College

9-10:15 a.m. Global Fulbright Network

  • Jane L. Anderson, Executive Director,
    Fulbright Association
  • Wiltrud W. G. Hammelstein (USA 1987),
    President, Fulbright Alumni e.V. (the German Fulbright Alumni
  • Jaakko E. Laine (USA 1972), Chairman,
    Finnish ASLA-Fulbright Alumni Association
  • Hassan Mekouar (U.S.A. 1968, 1973),
    Immediate Past President, Moroccan American Commission for Educational
    and Cultural Exchange
  • Esad Prohic (U.S.A. 1986), President, Croatian Fulbright
    Alumni Association

10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Concurrent Fulbright Association Task Force Meetings

  • Arts Task Force
  • International Education Task Force

12:15 p.m. Conference Adjourned


Omni Shoreham Hotel, Washington, D.C.

Save the Dates!

Please call the Omni Shoreham Hotel
at 202-756-5125 to reserve your room.

For special room rates, identify your
Fulbright Association affiliation.

Nov. 30-Dec. 3, 2000