The 1946 Society is a giving circle honoring the founding year of the Fulbright Program. It was established in 2015 in commemoration of the 70th year anniversary of the Program.  Members enjoy exclusive benefits that include special event invitations, behind-the-scenes access to prominent Fulbrighters, and high-level recognition at events. Join the 1946 Society to support academic exchanges and the mission of the Fulbright Association to advance international understanding.

Be a Visible Ambassador – Special individual opportunities to advocate on Capitol Hill. These include meetings with representatives in Congress, sharing your Fulbright story to support continued funding for the Program.

Exclusive Event Invitations – Enjoy VIP invitations to new programs, special celebrations, Oxford Legacy Lectures in collaboration with the U.S./UK Commission, VIP receptions, exclusive lunch and speaking engagements with fellow 1946ers at the annual conference, and special photo opportunities with Fulbright Prize laureates. 

Special induction ceremonyNew 1946 Society members are honored at receptions to celebrate their inauguration and commitment to the mission of the Fulbright Association, and presented with a special 1946 Society pin and certificate.

Recognition  Name recognition of all 1946 Society members in Association publications, including the Annual Report and other program materials, and opportunities for feature articles in the website blog and newsletter.


Fred Acker
Joan Anderson
Dick Arndt
John Ausura*
Diedrich Bader
Sudha Bhagwat
Bettina Blake
Frederic Borch
Max Burns*
Marilyn Callander*
Pamela Cook
Alex Counts
Michael DeLucia
Nils de Mol van Otterloo
Kim Eger
Jenise Englund
Pauline Eveillard
Fulton Fischer
Bruce Fowler
Scott Friedman
Marilyn Gaddis
Robert Gervasi
Heather Godsmark
Kay Goss
Krishna Guha
Mufi Hannemann
Beverly Hawk
Robert Helm*
Loren Hershey*
Stanley Jacobson
Sung-Hou Kim
Peter Kolker
Bill Krantz
Caroline Levander
Ann Lewis
Elsa Limbach
DeDe Long
Rebecca Macieira-Kaufmann
Sherry Mueller
Michael Mueller
Barbara Mossberg
Jay Nathan*
Nancy Neill*
Andrea Neves
Sharon Nickols
Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg
Karl Pister
Stephen Penman
James Polshek
Hoyt Purvis
Phil Rakita
Ramesh Ramakrishnan
Dolores Rinke
Jenifer S. Rogers
David Rosenbloom
Ulku Rowe
John Sargent
Mary Ellen Schmider*
Robert Schock
Georgia Shreve
Suzanne Siskel
Donald Sparks
Mary Stanton
Brendan Thomson
Anthony Viscusi
John Vogel*
Nancy York*
*Inaugural 1946 Society member


We have more than 50 members now, each of us donating $1000 annually. That $50,000/year gives us a reliable base of financial support for such chapter lead programs as Fulbright in the Classroom, Fulbright Service Corps, and Fulbright Forum. You can help us make Fulbright’s voice heard in communities across the country.