22nd Annual Conference


“Opportunities for Leadership: Fulbright in the World”

 Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

October 7 – October 10, 1999


The Fulbright Association 22nd annual conference, on the theme of “Opportunities for Leadership: Fulbright in the World,” was held at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C. from October 7 through October 10, 1999.

As part of the conference program, the Association awarded the 1999 J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding to
Mary Robinson, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights on Friday, October 8, in a ceremony at the U.S. Department of State.

The conference schedule is listed below.

Thursday, October 7

3-5 p.m. Legislative Update Session

5-9 p.m. Conference Registration

Friday, October 8
8-10 a.m. & 2-6 p.m. Conference Registration

10:15 p.m. Buses depart from Omni Shoreham Hotel to U.S. Dept. of State

11 a.m.-1:30 p.m. Fulbright Prize Award Ceremony, Lecture & Reception, U.S. Department of State

1:45 p.m. Buses depart for Omni Shoreham Hotel

2:30-4:30 p.m. Concurrent Sessions:

    • Fulbright Scholar Program
    • Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program
    • Interagency Working Group on International Exchanges & Training

4:45-6:15 p.m. Annual Meeting of Members

  • Ronald J. Ross (Sweden 1964), President, Fulbright Association,

Fulbright Program Update

  • Alan Schechter (The Netherlands 1960), Chairman, J. William Fulbright
    Foreign Scholarship Board
  • Barry Ballow, Chief, Academic Exchanges Division, United States
    Information Agency (USIA)

7-9:30 p.m. 22nd Annual Banquet and Keynote Address

S. Lieberman, Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy, U. S. Department of State

Saturday, October 9

8:45 a.m.-10:15 a.m. Information Technology:  Integrating or Fragmenting the

  • Winthrop Carty, Senior Development Officer, LASPAU: Academic and
    Professional Programs for the Americas
  • Sylvia Ortega (U.S.A. 1984), President, Universidad
    Pedagógica Nacional, Mexico
  • Jack Wilson, Co-director, Severino Center for Technological
    Entrepeneurship and Professor of Physics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Ernest Wilson III, Director, Center for International
    Development and Conflict Management, University of Maryland, and Senior Adviser to the
    Global Information Infrastructure Commission

10:30-11:45 a.m. Regional Conflict:  How Will We Respond?

    • Barbara Crossette (India 1980), United Nations Bureau Chief, The
      New York Times
    • Dan E. Davidson (Germany 1965), President, American Councils for
      International Education: ACTR/ACCELS
    • Edmund Ghareeb, Writer and Commentator
    • Laura Silber (Yugoslavia 1987), Senior Writer, The Financial
      Times, and Author of Yugoslavia: Death of a Nation

12:30-2 p.m. Plenary Luncheon and Address

The Right Honorable Professor Shirley Williams (U.S.A.1951), Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

2:15-3:45 p.m. Concurrent Sessions

  • Chapter Development
  • Global Fulbright Alumni Network

4-5:30 p.m. Concurrent Fulbright Association Task Force Meetings

  • Arts
  • Environment & Science
  • International Education

7-9:00 p.m. Concert & Reception, Embassy of Finland, in honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Fulbright Program in Finland Mikko Luoma (U.S.A. 1997), classical accordion

Sunday, October 10

9-10:30 a.m. 2000 & Beyond:  Where is the U.S. Constituency for Foreign Affairs?

  • Tom Cole (United Kingdom 1978), Chief of Staff, Republican National Committee
  • Thomas Farrell (Pakistan, 1976), Vice President for Exchange Programs
    and Regional Services, Institute of International Education
  • James M. McCormick (New Zealand 1993), Professor and Chairman,
    Department of Political Science, Iowa State University
  • Susan D. Moeller (Pakistan 1990, Thailand 1991), Author of Compassion
    Fatigue and Assistant Professor, American Studies, Brandeis University

10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m. Public Diplomacy:  What are the New Dynamics?

    • Sharon L. Franz, Senior Vice President, Academy for Educational Development
    • Joseph Montville, (Egypt 1961), Director, Preventive Diplomacy, Center for Strategic
      & International Studies
    • Walter R. Roberts, former member, U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy,
      Foreign Service Officer (ret.)
    • Barry Zorthian, President, The Public Diplomacy Foundation

12:15 p.m. Conference Adjourned

The Fulbright Association would like to thank The Coca-Cola
Foundation, the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, the Department of State,
the Embassy of Finland, the Institute of International Education, and the J. William
Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board for participation in, and support of, these events.


Hotel Information

All conference sessions will be held at the Omni Shoreham Hotel, 2500 Calvert Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. A special rate of $129 for a single or double room (plus D.C. tax and occupancy fees) is available to those who are registered for the conference and who state their affiliation with the Fulbright Association when making reservations with the hotel. The hotel will hold the block of special-rate rooms until 5 p.m. on Sept. 19, but reserve now as these rooms may sell out before that date. For reservations please call (202) 756-5125 or (800) 843-6664; by fax, (202) 756-5145. Reservation requests must be accompanied by a first night’s deposit by check, money order, or major credit card number. After special-rate rooms sell out, rooms will be available on a rate-available, space-available basis.

Information requested below will be used to generate conference name tags and the conference participants list, with mailing and e-mail addresses and telephone and fax numbers. Please fill in the information below exactly as you would like it on your name tag and in the participants list. Please review the spouse/guest program registration above and the chapter seminar and cancellation policy information below.

Conference Brochure