Call for Nominations: 2020 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

The call for nominations for the 2020 J. William Fulbright Prize for International Understanding is now CLOSED.


History of the Fulbright Prize


The Fulbright Prize was established by the Fulbright Association to honor extraordinary individuals and organizations that contribute to international understanding, cooperation and peace.  First awarded to South African President Nelson Mandela in 1993 and most recently to German Chancellor Angela Merkel, for more than 25 years, the Fulbright Prize has recognized heads of state, foundation leaders, global non-profits and others that have demonstrated a deep and sustained commitment to solving global problems through peaceful dialogue and to strengthening educational and cultural ties across borders.


A full list of Laureates—including Jimmy Carter, Corazon Aquino, Vaclav Havel, Mary Robinson, Kofi Annan, Sadako Ogata, Bill Clinton, Desmond Tutu, and Bill and Melinda Gates—can be found here.


The Fulbright Association acknowledges the Coca Cola Foundation for helping to establish the Fulbright Prize, and the late John B. Hurford, a Fulbright Scholar to India, for creating the Fulbright Prize Endowment.  Committed alumni and friends of the Fulbright Program have added to the endowment over the years.  Each event is made possible by additional individual donations and corporate sponsorship.


Nomination Criteria

An International Selection Committee welcomes nominations of widely respected individuals whose careers have had global impact and exemplify the vision of the Fulbright Program which Senator J. William Fulbright began after WWII. Nominees should promote international understanding, cultural respect, and global cooperation to solve problems and create a peaceful world.  Nominees can come from any sector and any country, and they do not have to be alumni of the Fulbright Program, though that is a consideration.

The selected Laureate must attend the Fulbright Prize Ceremony and deliver a substantive address to Fulbright alumni and distinguished guests.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations are welcome for individuals and organizations.
  • Nominations may be submitted by anyone, regardless of their association with the Fulbright Program or the Fulbright Association.
  • Written submissions must be substantive and specific, two single-spaced pages in length, detailing biographical or institutional information, and outlining the nominee’s accomplishments and impact.  This essay should make the case for the nominee based on their contributions to advancing international understanding and the vision of the Fulbright Program which Senator J. William Fulbright began after WWII.
  • Additional materials such as links to pertinent biographical or professional information may be submitted, but they will not be considered part of the official nomination.
  • Nominations will be kept confidential and forwarded to the selection committee.  The committee serves without compensation, and their identities are held in confidence until the Laureate is announced, to avoid undue influence.
  • As a nominator, you must include your email, telephone number, and professional affiliation so that the Fulbright Association may contact you.  If your nominee is chosen, you can choose to have your role made known to the public.
  • Please submit nominations via email by January 20, 2020 to with the subject line “Fulbright Prize Nomination 2020”.  Materials must be submitted in PDF format.
  • Announcement of the Fulbright Prize Laureate will take place once a Laureate has agreed to the timing and location of the Prize Ceremony.

Leave a Reply