Three Institutional Members Named 2018 Simon Award Recipients

Three Institutional Members Named 2018 Simon Award Recipients

Congratulations to three of the Fulbright Association’s institutional members — Texas Tech University, the University of Florida, and the University of Georgia — who have been named recipients of the 2018 Senator Paul Simon Award for Campus Internationalization by NAFSA.

The Simon Award recognizes U.S. colleges and universities who are making significant progress toward campus internationalization and embracing creative approaches in their internationalization programs and strategies. The award, named for the late Illinois Senator Paul Simon, is a powerful signal of commitment to international education and we commend the eight institutions who were recognized this year. Awards are given in two categories, reflecting the variety of internationalization initiatives on U.S. college and university campuses.

The Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization recognizes overall excellence in internationalization efforts. Texas Tech University and the University of Florida were among the five institutions honored with this award. The Spotlight Award highlights specific international programs or initiatives that are contributing to an institution’s internationalization strategy. The University of Georgia received a Spotlight Award for its innovative UGA-Minas Gerais Joint Research Partnership, a grant program designed to support international research collaboration tackling issues important to both Georgia and Minas Gerais, a large state in southeastern Brazil.

NAFSA, the Association of International Educators, will formally present the Simon Awards during International Education Week in November in Washington, D.C. We look forward to joining these institutions at that time to celebrate their achievements in international education.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: