Call for Nominations: 2018 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

Call for Nominations: 2018 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding

The call for nominations for the 2018 Fulbright Prize for International Understanding is now closed.
History of the Fulbright Prize

The Fulbright Prize was first awarded to Nelson Mandela in 1993 and most recently to Richard C. Lugar in 2016. The 2018 Prize will be awarded in early autumn 2018 in a ceremony and reception developed separately from the 41st Annual Fulbright Association Conference (which is slated to occur in November 2018). The Fulbright Association is grateful to the Coca Cola Company for its co-sponsorship from 1993-2008 and for its generous additions to the Prize Endowment initiative begun by the late John B. Hurford, Fulbright scholar to India. Committed alumni and friends of the Fulbright Program have added to the fund over the years.

Nomination Criteria
An International Selection Committee will determine the awardee from the nominations received based on these criteria:

  • Sustained distinction in any field which exemplifies the ideals of Senator Fulbright and the Fulbright Program in promoting understanding and peaceful dialogue among nations and in strengthening educational and cultural ties across borders.
  • Individuals, two or more persons in partnership, or not-for-profits dedicated to the pursuit of peace and understanding may be nominated.
  • Fulbright alumni are especially welcomed, but alumni status is not required.
  • The winner must attend the ceremony to deliver a substantive keynote address (up to 20 minutes) to Fulbright alumni and distinguished guests. (Note: Nominations will be ranked by the International Selection Committee. If the first place nominee is unable to confirm the schedule for the event, the committee will certify a second place nominee to be offered the Prize instead.)
    Nomination Process
  • Nominations may not exceed two pages of text. In addition, please provide a page with biographical data and contact details such as title, current professional role, email, phone and address for the person or group you nominate. As a nominator, please provide in addition your email, telephone, and professional affiliation so that the Fulbright Association may contact you with regard to the nomination. Once the choice of Laureate has been made, your role in the nomination may be made public. We would hope you could attend the ceremony and reception to celebrate the 2018 Laureate although there is no funding available to support your attendance nor that of any member of the selection committee. All serve pro bono.
  • The two-page text (limit) should contain a compelling, informative case for the nominee as Prize Laureate, noting the connection between career and Fulbright ideals. It should be carefully written since this statement may serve as the basis for the citation conferring the Prize.
  • Should nominators wish to provide additional information, such as links to articles or other pertinent professional data, they may do so, but it will not be considered as part of the official nomination considered by the International Selection Committee.
  • Nominations will be kept confidential and forwarded only to the selection committee. The committee includes the chairperson, Fulbright Association president, and five distinguished members from around the world. They will confer electronically and serve pro bono. The identity of the committee members will be held in confidence until the laureate is announced.
    Please submit nominations via email to with the subject line: Fulbright Prize Nomination 2018. The deadline to submit nominations is December 15, 2017. Nominating materials must be sent in .PDF format.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: