Meet Our Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Manfred Philipp President

Manfred Philipp is Executive Director of the CUNY Academy for the Humanities and Sciences and a former Trustee of the City University of New York (CUNY).

Pat LeMay Burr Vice President

Dr. Burr holds a Ph.D. in Business and Economics from University of North Texas. Her post-doctoral studies…

Cynthia Ackron Baldwin Secretary

Justice Cynthia A. Baldwin has indeed enjoyed a prestigious career. Justice Baldwin dedicated eighteen years…

Philip Rakita Treasurer

Dr. Philip Rakita is Managing Director of Armour Associates, with offices in North Carolina and Paris, France.

Max Burns Chair, Advocacy

Dr. Max Burns became the 18th President of Gordon State College (Barnesville, GA) in January 2012. Gordon is the second oldest college in the University System of Georgia and enrolls approximately 4,000…

H. Andrea Neves Chair, Governance

Professor emerita of education at Sonoma State University, Dr. Neves received her doctorate in educational anthropology from Stanford University in 1984.


ERWIN CHO Director

Josephine Dorado Director

Josephine Dorado was President of Fulbright Association’s NY Chapter and recently chaired the…

Bruce Fowler Director

Dr. Bruce Fowler is a private consultant in toxicology and risk assessment, Adjunct Professor at the Emory School of Public Health…

Scott Friedman Director

Dr. Scott L. Friedman is the Dean for Therapeutic Discovery and Chief of the Division of Liver Diseases…

Alison Gardy Director

For 15+ years, Alison Gardy has created pioneering educational programming for local, national, and global leaders…

Nada Glick Director

Dr. Glick is an experienced career counselor, currently with a private career counseling practice. For many years…

Melanie Horton Director

Melanie Horton is Senior Marketing Manager at EdTec, a social venture that provides business and development…

Ann von Briesen Lewis Director

Ann von Briesen Lewis is an international development consultant, with experience living and working in Asia…

Aleksandra Liaplina Director

Aleksandra Liaplina is an Economist in the World Bank Group, which she joined in 2013, and is based in Washington, D.C.

DeDe Long Director

DeDe Long has been Director of Study Abroad and International Exchange at the University of Arkansas since 1994

Jay Nathan Director

A Fulbright Scholar to Thailand, Poland, Kazakhstan, and Mongolia, Dr. Nathan has earned MBA and PhD degrees…

Ramesh Ramakrishnan Director

Dr. Ramesh Ramakrishnan has more than 25 years of experience in the development..


Dolores Rinke is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Certified Compliance and Ethics Professional (CCEP), and an IRS ….

Ulku Rowe Director

Ulku Rowe is the Director of Financial Services at Google Cloud, Office of the CTO . Before joining Google, Ulku…

Mary Ellen Schmider

Dr. Schmider previously served as Executive Director of the Fulbright …

Donald Sparks Director

Donald Sparks is Professor of International Economics at the Citadel in Charleston, SC, (where he has..

Mary Ann Stanton Director

Mary Ann Stanton is Chair of the Fulbright Alumni Travel Task Force and a board member of the Fulbright Association Minnesota Chapter.

Samantha Lakin Student Representative

Samantha Lakin, M.A., is a Ph.D. candidate at the Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies,..

Our Board of Directors is unpaid and members serve in a pro bono capacity. Members pay their own expenses for travel to board meetings and make a significant financial contribution to the organization each year. Board members are elected for 3-year terms.