San Diego Chapter Webinar – Democracy Reform in California: Voting Rights, Recall and the Electoral College

San Diego Chapter Webinar – Democracy Reform in California: Voting Rights, Recall and the Electoral College
Map Unavailable

Date(s) - 12/01/21
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm


Hosted by the San Diego Chapter of the Fulbright Association and UC San Diego’s Division of Global Education this webinar presents challenges to our democracy during the past year in the forms of mis- and disinformation, gerrymandering, and voter suppression. You will learn about the progress California has made to build a more accessible democracy, including details on landmark laws that make access to voter registration and voting easier, and data showing whether or not those reforms have really made a difference.

Our panelists:
Thad Kousser is a Professor of Political Science, Department Chair, and Co-Director of the Yankelovich Center at UC San Diego, where he studies American state and national politics. He has been a visiting professor at Stanford University, a Flinders Fulbright Distinguished Chair at Flinders University in Australia, received UCSD’s Academic Senate’s Distinguished Teaching Award, served as co-editor of the journals Legislative Studies Quarterly and State Politics and Policy Quarterly, and has worked as a staff assistant in the California, New Mexico, and United States Senates.

Jonathan Mehta Stein is a civil rights attorney, a long-time democracy reform advocate, and the Executive Director of California Common Cause after spending 10 years on the organization’s Board of Directors. Jonathan spent four years as the head of the Voting Rights & Census Program at the civil rights organizations Asian Law Caucus. Jonathan previously worked as a voting rights staff attorney for the ACLU of California, was the Chair of the Oakland Public Ethics Commission, and was a board member of the UC Berkeley alumni association.

Jeanne Weidner has been a member of the League of Women Voters San Diego since 2018, became chair of the Speakers Bureau in 2020, and elected to the Board of Directors as Voter Empowerment Chair this year. She received her PhD in Science Education at UC Berkeley and retired from academia in 2015.

Click here to register! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply