Chapter Advisory Board (CAB)

The Fulbright Association’s Chapter Advisory Board (CAB) was initially created in January 2014. The objective of the CAB is to implement a nationwide chapter and national office engagement strategy whereby the Fulbright Association and its chapters work together to enhance the Association’s sustainability, build the alumni community, and secure the future of the Fulbright Program.

CAB is designed to better integrate chapter initiatives and activities with the Association’s national and international mission. It will provide a platform for peer training and the sharing of best practices; and will develop partnerships among chapters in the same geographic region, fostering regional discussions and activities to strengthen the chapter network.

CAB Leadership

Sean AndersonChairNational Capital Area Chapter

Sean Anderson is the Chair of the Chapter Advisory Board and an anti-corruption investigator for the private sector. He was previously the president of the National Capital Area Chapter of the Fulbright Association.

Tom HaakensonVice ChairNorthern California Chapter

Tom Haakenson is Special Assistant to the Provost for Faculty Support, as well as Associate Professor of Critical Studies and Visual Studies at California College of the Arts. He has served as Vice President to both the Northern California and the Minnesota Chapters of the Fulbright Association.  His previous Fulbright awards include Germany (2002-2003) and the Fulbright German Studies Seminar (2012).


Beth BennettMassachusetts Chapter

Beth Bennett is the vice president of the Massachusetts Chapter of the Fulbright Association. She was a Fulbright Scholar in Ghana (2014-2015) and is an English professor.

Derek CriderNational Capital Area Chapter

Derek Crider is an engineer with 34 years of experience in planning, design and operations analysis for rail and bus transit systems. This career links directly with his Fulbright research and study in Germany.

Darla Domke-DamonteSouth Carolina Chapter

Dr. Darla Domke-Damonte is Associate Provost for Global Initiatives at Coastal Carolina University, where she is also a tenured professor of management and formerly served as assistant dean in the E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration.

Tom GaffneyGreater New York Chapter

Tom Gaffney is a journalist based in New York. He graduated from Holy Cross and earned an MPA from Columbia. He spent 2008-09 as a Fulbrighter researching economic development in Macau.

Trey GuinnSan Antonio Chapter

Dr. Trey Guinn is Assistant Professor and Chair of Communication Arts at University of the Incarnate Word, and is a Business Communication Specialist at the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin. He earned his Ph.D. at the University of Texas at Austin.

Melanie HortonGreater Los Angeles Chapter

Melanie Horton is Senior Marketing Manager at EdTec, a social venture that provides business and development support to charter schools. She is a member of the Fulbright Assocation’s national Board of Directors and was a Fulbright scholar in Mexico.

Nan McEntireUtah Chapter

Nan McEntire is a retired professor of folklore and ethnomusicology at Indiana State University. She is the president of the Utah Chapter and lives in Salt Lake City. Her Fulbright was to the University of Limerick, Ireland, in 2010.

David StudwellCentral New York Chapter

David Studwell was a Fulbright Specialist in Theatre in Pakistan in 2013 and 2015. He is a board member of the Central New York Chapter. A professional actor, he is a member of the Actor’s Equity Association and SAG/AFTRA. He received his MFA from Purdue University and his BFA from SUNY Fredonia.

Marilyn SusmanChicago Chapter

Dr. Marilyn Susman is Professor Emerita in Counseling Psychology at Loyola University Chicago. She is senior psychologist with The Evanston Psychological Group. She was a Fulbright Senior Scholar in Malaysia (1997) and Cyprus (2003) and a Fulbright Senior Specialist in Indonesia (2011).

Holly WheelerArizona Chapter

Holly Wheeler was a Fulbright-Nehru English Teaching Assistant in New Delhi, India from 2016-2017. She is now an Education Abroad Advisor at Northern Arizona University.

Questions about the Chapter Advisory Board? Contact Kelsey Poholsky, Fulbright Association Staff Liaison